Warn Chatters when they use banned words

Is there a way that when a someone in chat uses a banned word that NightBot will deleted the entry and warn them with a message like, “Hey there $user$ lets try to keep it family friendly…”

Yes, you can assign banned words in the Spam Blacklist section in the Nightbot Control Panel.

What about the ‘friendly’ custom warning message? Where can I add this? Sorry, I am fairly new to Nightbot. I saw some other streamer that had Nightbot doing this and thought it would be better then just auto ban.

Adding words or phrases to the spam blacklist will time out a user if they say that word in chat. In the Spam Blacklist setting you can set a custom message to “Hey there lets try to keep it family friendly…” The user will be at the front of the message automatically. Also be sure to enable Custom Message and disable Silent Timeouts.

It should also be added that Nightbot will never ban users in your chat for an infinite amount of time. That should be handled by moderators or other means.

Okay, that does seems pretty straight forward and I have been able to find a list of banned words and added them to the blacklist. I have timeouts disabled and see where I can add the customer message, what is the variable for the user/chatter? [I think I found the list, but not sure … sorry, I am out of my element a little bit here]

There is no var for that in a custom timeout I think (Atleast it’s not $(user) or $(touser)), however Nightbot will respond with: $user -> $timeoutmessage.
So the user/chatter will be mentioned already.

Oh, so the custom/warning message will automatically call out the users name? No way of doing something like:

Hey now, $user lets keep it family friendly. Avoid using those gawd awful words in this stream. [said politely and with a smile]

Or, is there a little setup on my end to get the above message format?

Yes, the command will automatically call out the users name.