Nightbot help selecting from a list

I’m basically trying to make a “Who’s that Pokemon” command for a friend, but because of character limits could only get 30 in.
So was looking to use something like Pastebin to list them all and then nightbot select from there.
I’m completely new to this kind of thing, so will need help put as simply as possible.
$(eval a=$urlfetch json mylink);a[Math.floor(Math.random()*a.length)]) is what I had been trying with, but get unexpected identifier and then the math bit.

Am completely new to this kind of thing, so will need it explained very bascally

It’s just a syntax error. You have more closing brackets than opening brackets ^^

Thanks, had missed that, but tried
$(eval a=$urlfetch json mylink );a[Math.floor(Math.random()*a.length)] and $(eval a=$urlfetch json mylink );a[Math.floor(Math.random()*a.length])

both times got unexpected identifier and then the math bit.

Hey @JamesBCFC!

That’s because you forget parenthesis, here’s what you typed with the fix bellow:

$(eval a=$urlfetch json mylink);a[Math.floor(Math.random()*a.length])

$(eval a=$(urlfetch json LINK);a[Math.floor(Math.random()*a.length)])

That said, I’m not sure this will give you the desired result, as this will pick a random item of your array every time, and not give you specific information on the Pokemon you may be looking for, for that have a look here:

That’s exactly what I needed, thanks.
Was starting with the basic thing first, but might try and work on the other one you showed.

I’m finding it works to an extent, so does the character limit apply to what’s in the pastebin too?

If so what could I do as a workaround?

The only limit that applies here is the total length of the response, the length of the JSON file doesn’t matter, so if you only use the JSON to generate an output, you have up to 400 characters per Pokemon description, which should be enough, haha!

I started getting an error again, so took a bunch out until it worked again.