Creating randomised command responses

Hi there everyone,

I’m sorry if this has been asked before, I’m sure it has. I’m new to NightBot, and I wanted to make some generated responses to a command. For instance, I do a lot of Pokemon Content on my channel. So I’d like to create a ‘Who’s that Pokemon command’, where if the viewer types !whosthatpokemon, Nightbot will choose from a series of other commands that will be descriptions of the pokemon.

For example !whosthatpokemon > !pikachu “This Pokemon can generate powerful electricity, within their cheek sacs that are extra soft and super stretchy”, but then if they type !whosthatpokemon again, it will choose a different description.

I’m not sure how to go about doing this or if its even possible.

Thank you for any help you can provide!

–TheeDrewGamer

Nightbot can only call one alias as far as I know, in that case this is not possible at the moment. You can instead do !whosthatpokemon random responses. There’s a lot of pokemons so it would be hard aswell to call alias, you would add tons of specific commands for them.

If you want to try the other method, idk if you already know it:

1. Make a pastebin of the pokemons and their abilities/descriptions and add a ; after each one. Example:

Pikachu, example example example;
Charmander, example example example;
Squirtle, example example example;

and so on.

1. Add this command and replace the YOURPASTEBINHERE with the /RAW/ version of the pastebin you created:

!addcom !whosthatpokemon It’s $(eval responses = $(urlfetch json YOURPASTEBINHERE).split(“;”); responses[Math.floor(Math.random() * responses.length)])

I hope I helped. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hey @TheeDrewGamer!

What With_Vince suggested is the right direction. But I would like to expand a little bit on it since it seems you’re looking for the ability to do !whosthatpokemon pokemon as well as a random output if no query is specified. So here we go!